Courses and Workshops

We currently have two workshops available which can be scheduled to suit your needs:

Although our workshops are normally taught in English, the instructor is also fluent in French, so if there is interest, French names for techniques, materials, and equipment can be included.

Workshops held in our store

The specific page for each workshop lists the mazimum enrolment and the associated fees when the workshop is held in our store in New Dundee Normally a minimum enrolment of 3 students is required, but we can also teach one or two people if they are willing to pay tuition for 3. We do not generally schedule our workshops on spec so it is up to interested participants to organize a large enough group to suit their own schedules, although we can occasionally provide contact information for other potential participants.

Workshops held elsewhere

When our workshops are held outside our premises, the maximum class size may be limited both by the facilities used and by our ability to transport the required equipment and materials. Minimum class size and fees are negotiable. We can also charge a fixed fee for the workshop regardless of enrolment but we would still want to limit the number of students so each gets sufficient attention from the instructors.

Custom Workshops

We can also customize the workshops listed above, by adding or dropping some topics, altering the duration, and changing the balance between teaching time and practical time. As well, we can hold workshops on other subjects related to the book arts, including advanced papermaking techniques, japanese marbling (suminagashi), bookbinding, and letterpress printing. Such custom workshops would generally be less formal since they would not have a preset curriculum.

Please contact us for more information or to schedule a workshop.

Ateliers

Au courant, nous avons deux ateliers que nous pouvons programmer à votre plaisir :

Nos ateliers sont ordinariement donnés en Anglais, mais l'instructeur est bilingue alors il est aussi possible de donner les ateliers en Français.

Ateliers tenus chez nous

L'information sur chaque atelier indique le nombre maximale d'étudiants et les droits de scolarité quand il est tenu chez notre magasin. Ordinairement il nous faut au moins 3 participants, mais nous pouvons aussi donner l'atelier pour une ou deux personnes s'ils sont préparés à payer les frais pour trois participants. Nous ne planifions pas ordinarement les ateliers à tout hasard donc il est la responsabilité des personnes intéressés de former une groupe suffisante selon leur propres calendriers, mais nous pouvons quand même des fois proposer d'autres personnes qui ont indiqué leur intérêt au passé.

Ateliers tenus ailleurs

Quand l'atelier est tenu ailleurs le nombre maximale d'étudiants dépend sur l'endroit et aussi sur notre abilité de transporter les matériaux et l'équipement nécessaire. Les droits de scolarité et le nombre minimale d'étudiants est négociable. Nous pouvons aussi tenir les ateliers à prix fixe, mais il y a quand même une limite maximale sur le nombre d'étudiants.

Ateliers personnalisés

Nous pouvons modifier les ateliers mentionnés ci-haut pour inclure ou omettre certains sujets ou bien pour changer leur durée ou leur balance entre l'enseignement et la pratique. Nous pouvons aussi tenir des ateliers sur d'autres sujets à propos des arts du livre, incluant les techniques avancées du papier fait à la main, la marbrure japonaise, la reliure des livres, et la typographie. Ces atelier seraient nécessairement moins formelles car nous n'avons pas dévéloppé leur curriculum.

Veulliez nous contacter pour plus de renseigments ou bien pour programmer un atelier.